I’m Down With That

May 2012 013The calendar says that spring has arrived, but a sure sign that it truly has is a nesting bird.

When I spotted this Canadian goose, I thought my senses were playing games with my mind because I knew that she couldn’t possibly be laying on snow.

As I looked through the lens of my camera it quickly became clear that what I was looking at was a blanket of soft fluffy down.  What a surprise – I had assumed that nest were nest – a combination of grasses, sticks and feathers. But here is evidence that is not so for our Canadian feathered friend.  It appears that they arrive in style and start life out in the midst of luxury.

An Interesting fact:  The incubation period, in which the female incubates while the male remains nearby, lasts for 24–28 days after laying. As the annual summer molt also takes place during the breeding season, the adults lose their flight feathers for 20–40 days, regaining flight at about the same time as their goslings start to fly.

One thought on “I’m Down With That

Leave a Reply

